The Downsized Diaries

My journey to my next career.

Laid Off on LinkedIn: How to Publicize?

with 7 comments

I’ve been avoiding changing my ‘title’ on LinkedIn. Technically I’m not “out the door” for another 6 weeks or so, but… I am looking for another job, so I need to make this known on LinkedIn.  My personal hang-up has been, I can tell when someone’s been laid off on LinkedIn because their title has changed to something like:”Dynamic, Experienced  Sales Manager”.  When I see these, my heart kind of sinks because I know the person isn’t employed.  My impression has been some of  these ‘title changes’ come off like a desperate match.com profile.  No disrespect to anyone, I’m just sharing how I’ve perceived this up until now.

So my question is, how do you make your status known on LinkedIn without sounding “needy”?  Leave me your thoughts in the comments.

Written by Krista Summitt

December 2, 2008 at 7:31 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would say that you could leave your old job title on there until you find something new.

    Btw, good for you for having such a positive outlook on getting started again. Hang in there, Krista! We’re cheering for you.

    Lisa Creech Bledsoe

    December 5, 2008 at 4:00 pm

  2. Hi Krista,

    What about the job title of the position you are looking for?

    Just a thought… I think your perception that a new LinkedIn job title is a desperate match.com kind of thing is off-base. Anyone looking for a job needs to let everyone in their universe and any other universe they can tap into know they are available for whatever opportunity presents itself. Networking will be the way the majority of people get their next position. There is nothing embarrassing or desperate about letting people know you are available.

    You need to sell yourself however you can. I think you might need to rethink your position that point.

    Wishing you good hunting

    Leighsah

    December 7, 2008 at 5:03 pm

  3. Leighsah: Hey thanks for stopping by! I agree with you that my perception is off-base re a new title being “desparate”. The shoe
    is indeed on the other foot now, right? I do like your suggestion of putting the title of the position I’m looking for. I think that will
    definitely work; I could get creative with it also 🙂

    Thanks again. Stop back again soon.

    kristasphere

    December 8, 2008 at 5:11 pm

  4. Hi Krista, from a recruiter’s perspective, I thought I would chime in. The point of your information being on LinkedIN is to be found, so your title or keywords should have something to do with what you want to be doing. Especially if it’s different from what you were doing. When I search LI for potential candidates, I always search the title first in the geographic location to give me a short list of very specific candidates and then I broaden with keywords. The point is to make sure you have the keywords in your LI profile to be found by people like me!

    Lindsay Olson

    December 12, 2008 at 4:08 pm

  5. I think the assumption of Dynamic, Experienced Sales Manager meaning the person is unemployed is maybe not true. My colleagues have been coaching people to use LinkedIn to demonstrate their brand for quite awhile. For example: Results Driven Global Leader: Certified 6 Sigma BB, Manager of Quality/Op. Excellence, Quality Engineer, Lead Auditor — this person is quite employed but it is her branding statement.

    Your LinkedIn profile shouldn’t be a clone of your resume and should be something that attracts readers and picks up well in search engines. Filling your LinkedIn Profile with key words is your goal.

    Don’t know if that helps. The best advice I can give you is that LinkedIn is a networking tool that can move you forward in both your career and in a job search.

    Julie Walraven

    December 14, 2008 at 3:14 pm

  6. Linkedin was added to the About.com Top 10 Employment site list with 2 other sites but linkedin is still the only social netwoking site on the list. 3 newest job sites on top list are:

    http://www.linkedin.com (professional networking)
    http://www.indeed.com (aggregated job listings)
    http://www.realmatch.com (matches you to the perfect job)

    Good luck to all those searching for jobs.

    Susan

    December 14, 2008 at 6:19 pm

  7. […] all the great comments regarding my Laid-Off on LinkedIn post, I had no choice but to admit the error of my ways and reform. So, with all the contrition of […]


Leave a Reply

