The Downsized Diaries

My journey to my next career.

Separation Meeting Scheduled

with 6 comments

(l-r) Skip Johnson, me, Kenny Wicks, 1993

(l-r) Skip Johnson, me, Kenny Wicks, 1993

First of all, no, I didn’t get a weave.

I call this the “My Two Dads” shot. This photo is from a dear friend,colleague,and mentor, Ken Wicks’, IBM 25th anniversary luncheon in Chicago, atop the Standard Oil building. Ah those were the days.  I had attended the other guy’s, my manger Skip Johnson’s, 25th anniversary luncheon a year or so prior.  (Skip passed away in 2005.)

What’s with the nostalgia, you ask?

I’m scheduled for my official separation meeting on January 12 now. Yep. Even though I knew it was coming, the fact I have a meeting scheduled on the calendar crystalizes it in my mind.They offered me the option to meet off-site, but I want to go in.

I’m not trying to be dramatic or wallow in self-pity. I’m just coming to real grips with this. I mean, I’ve never been a job-hopper, I’m intelligent, I have a well-honed midwestern work ethic, I’m creative,good looking(hey had to break the list up somehow).

Doesn’t matter now.

I’m not bragging when I say it will cost more to teach someone what I and so many others like me have achieved the last 20 years than it would to keep us. Brain trust is not valued, it seems.

I want to let you in on a little secret: Laying people off won’t solve these companies’ problems.  It won’t.  Oh it makes good press. ” Spacely Sprockets slashes X jobs! We took swift action! We are slashing costs.”  Skip used to use the expression “They’re not moving the car forward, they’re just backstage pulling the curtain making the scenery go faster.” (think old Hollywood road movies)

Doesn’t matter now.

I’d imagined having a 25 year dinner in the future too, IBM-style, with all my friends and family…stainless steel Rolex (Do they still do that?) 5 more years after that, retire and start the rest of my life.  Indeed the times they are a-changin’, Mr. Dylan. Indeed.

Come writers and critics
Who prophesize with your pen
And keep your eyes wide
The chance won’t come again
And don’t speak too soon
For the wheel’s still in spin
And there’s no tellin’ who
That it’s namin’.
For the loser now
Will be later to win
For the times they are a-changin’. –Bob Dylan, 1963

Written by Krista Summitt

January 7, 2009 at 10:40 am

Posted in Reflections

Tagged with , , , , , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh. My. Goodness. That’s some suit you had there! And you were super skinny. I was just looking at some old HS pix on Facebook and bemoaning the fact that I don’t have any of those (with me in them) to see what I looked like back in tha day.

    I’m hearing your practical self-prep for Jan 12. It’s gonna be hard. But you’ve been through harder, I’ll bet. You’re doing all the right things, looking ahead in the right way. Keep it up; we’ll all be waiting to hear.

    Lisa Creech Bledsoe

    January 7, 2009 at 1:16 pm

  2. Yeah I had it going on back in the day, or at least I thought I did! I will tell you in person what size that suit is when I see you again. Thanks as always for your encouragement, Lisa!

    kristasphere

    January 7, 2009 at 2:09 pm

  3. First of all I thought it was a weave, since you wore your hair short when I was with IBM, LOL. Anyways, when my separation meeting was about to happen (in October 07, after 13 years), I have to admit I more at peace with everything than I had anticipated. My manager was more nervous than me. Anyhow there is life after IBM and Lenovo and you should land softly at the job of your choice. The next company you choose to work for will be the ultimate benefactor of all the skills you have acquired over the years (having the IBM/Lenovo title on your resume doesn’t hurt either). I’m living proof of that. Just think of separation meeting as the beginning of your new life chapter, so don’t ponder on what happens the day of the separation meeting but look at what great things lay for your life and leave smiling.

    Why not meet off-site and maybe they will pick up the tab for lunch?

    Be good and happy job hunting!!

    justluvgod

    January 12, 2009 at 8:56 am

  4. Yeah, “fine” looking specimen of womanhood. We all can remember those days.

    One of your friends stated it best, referring to this as a beginning. It truely is just that, a beginning. You may think that this is a bad time, with the economy being what it is and all, but we have always thrived in the worst of times. I am confident that you will, too. I would look at doing it offsite to get the free meal, too (smiles).

    Krista, you have always impressed me as a person of many talents and abilities. I am sure you will find other talents, you are maybe not yet aware of, in the next few months. Your past employer is really the one incurring the loss. Theirs is long term, whereas yours will be short term.

    Gotta go,
    Keep your head high, will strong, and Faith present.

    Love,

    Cuz Charm

    Charmlin Howard

    January 15, 2009 at 2:06 pm

  5. […] Comments Charmlin Howard on Separation Meeting Schedu…justluvgod on Separation Meeting Schedu…kristasphere on Separation […]

    The Downsized Diaries

    January 24, 2009 at 1:31 pm

  6. […] posted earlier about not making it to my 25th anniversary with my company, and not getting a lavish lunch and […]


Leave a Reply

