The Downsized Diaries

My journey to my next career.

Job Search Work Teams: Strength in Numbers

leave a comment »

I attended my 2nd job search work team meeting today. Job search work teams are offered by the outplacement agency my company provided. I wanted to go through 2 rounds before sharing my take on it.

I love it.

I didn’t realize until I attended how “out here on my own” I felt. Here you meet with 12-14 folks from varying industries, but all in the same boat with you. As is the case with grad school and other group settings, you learn as much from each other as you do from books,web,etc. We report the number of hours we spend on job search each week, number of contacts made,etc. This isn’t a competition, rather, I find it gives me a feeling of usefulness. I have a report due with metrics each Wednesday, and that is actually very healthy mentally.

There seems to be some interest among my group in learning more about social media tools for job search, especially Twitter, so I am going to put a little workshop together.

Never thought I’d be this happy to go to a meeting.

Written by Krista Summitt

February 4, 2009 at 9:07 pm

Leave a Reply

